Ayutthaya Day Tour
Go back in time and visit the 2nd capital of the Thai Kingdom!
- 7:30 - Meet you in the lobby
- Drive about 1hr and 15 mins (65 Km) to Bang Pa In Summer Palace
- Then visit 4-5 major historical sites
- Lunch at a local Thai restaurant
- A private boat ride
- Back to Bangkok 4:30 pm
- Bang Pa In Summer Palace
- Wat Phanan Choeng
- Wat Mahathat
- Wat Ratchaburana
- Wat Putthai Sawan
- Wat Chai Wattanaram
- A friendly licensed tour guide
- An Air-con van and a profeesional driver
- All admission fees
- Lunch at a local restaurant
- Liability and accident insurance
- Gratuity for a guide & a driver
Dress code for the Bang Pa In Summer Palace
- No shorts, no tight pants, and no sleeveless shirt. Pants the end slightly above the ankles is fine, and can’t use a shawl to cover your shoulders.
- You might want to bring a hat, wear a comfortable walking shoes which can easily be slipped off.
Information: (Click on these places below for the photo gallery)
Bang Pa In Summer Palace was first built by King Prasat-Thong (1630-1655). It was abandoned in 1767 when Ayutthaya lost the war to Burmese. King Rama IV (1851-1868) accidentally found it on his way to Ayutthaya by boat. He restored the palace but most of the buildings today were built by King Rama V (1868-1910). The palace is a collection of Thai, European and Chinese architecture. Today, the palace is only used infrequently, and then mostly for state occasions rather than as a royal summer residence.
Ayutthaya was a second capital of Thailand for 417 years with 33 kings. It was founded by King Uthong in 1350 but the city was completely destroyed by the Burmese in 1767. In 1969 the Fine Arts Department began renovations of the ruins. It was declared as an UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1991. Today Ayutthaya is one of the most famous one day trip from Bangkok.
Wat Phanan Choeng was built in 1424, 26 years before Ayutthaya was founded. The highlight of the temple is a 19 meters high sitting Buddha image.
Wat Mahathat was built in 1370 as the temple in the center of the city. The main stupa was 50 meters high and contained relic of the Buddha.
It collapsed in 1911 and the Fine Art department excavated around the main prang (stupa) and they found a container with 7 layers. The most inner contained relic of the Buddha. The highlight of the temple is a dismembered Buddha head firmly grasped in the tree trunk of the banyan trees.
Wat Ratchaburana was built in 1424 by King Boromarja II, to commemorate his two brothers who died on elephantback fighting for the throne. It became known to the public when thieves broke into the secret chamber that contained nation treasures.
Wat Putthai Sawan was built in 1353 by King Uthong, the first king of Ayutthaya who lived on the site during the construction of the new capital.
Wat Chai Watthanaram was built in 1630 by King Prasat Thong on the site of his mother’s house. The main stupa is 35 meters high and has a Cambodian influence. It is the most intact and beautiful ruin temple in Ayutthaya.